Return to inbox after deleting message

David Tsevat 0 Reputation points
2026-10-26T07:00:32.44+00:00

After deleting or moving a message, I would like to automatically return to the inbox. How do I set this up? Currently it automatically moves to the next message.

Outlook | Web | Outlook.com | Settings
0 comments No comments

3 answers

Sort by: Newest
  1. Hornblower409 18,685 Reputation points
    2026-10-27T04:15:32.9266667+00:00

    Update (Nov 2026)

    Newer Outlook Web and New Outlook versions now expose a Reading Pane setting:

    Settings → Mail → Reading Pane → "What do you want to happen when you move or delete the item you are viewing?"

    • Open the next item
    • Open the previous item
    • Return to the message list

    But Return to the message list is dependent on the selected Reading Pane layout. My testing indicates, that it can only be enabled when Layout is Fill screen.

    User's image

    If the Return to the message list is unavailable in your version, or you don't want to use Layout = Fill Screen, then pressing ESC remains the quickest way to return focus to the Message List after Outlook advances to another message.


    @David Tsevat said

    After deleting or moving a message, I would like to automatically return to the inbox. Currently it automatically moves to the next message.

    I will assume you are using New Outlook for Windows or Outlook Web https://outlook.cloud.microsoft/.

    If this is not the case, please see this article and advise what your environment is. https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/office/what-version-of-outlook-do-i-have-b3a9568c-edb5-42b9-9825-d48d82b2257c

    For New Outlook for Windows or Outlook Web when your have your Reading Pane on the Right or Bottom and you Move or Delete the current message, you have to press ESC to close the Reading pane and return to the Message list.

    There is no setting that controls this behavior. Anything about "Auto Advance" does not apply to these Outlook clients.

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments

  2. Diana Mariz 11,385 Reputation points Independent Advisor
    2026-10-26T08:32:03.2966667+00:00

    Hi David,

    Can you please double confirm if are you using Outlook for Mac? If so, You can configure Auto Advance to determine what happens after you delete or move a message, including returning to the message list instead of automatically opening the next email.If Outlook is currently opening the next message after deletion, check the Auto Advance setting and select the option that returns you to the message list. This should give you the behavior you're looking for.

    For more information, you can refer to this link: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/outlook/email-auto-advance-setting

    Was this answer helpful?

    0 comments No comments

  3. AI answer

    2026-10-26T07:01:07.0566667+00:00

    Set Email Auto-advance to Return to the message list so deleting or moving an open message takes you back to the Inbox list instead of opening another message.^1^

    1. In Outlook.com or Outlook on the web, select Home in the upper-left corner.
    2. Select the Settings gear.
    3. Go to Mail > Email Auto-advance.
    4. Select Return to the message list.
    5. Close Settings, open a message from the Inbox, and delete or move it to test the behavior.

    “Message list” means the list in the folder from which you opened the message. Therefore, a message opened from the Inbox returns to the Inbox; one opened from another folder returns to that folder.

    If Email Auto-advance is not shown, check Settings > Mail > Layout and look under Reading pane for the action performed after moving or deleting the item. Where available, select Return to the message list.^2^


    References

    1. Email Auto-Advance Setting | Microsoft Support
    2. New Outlook
    AI-generated content may be incorrect. Read our transparency notes for more information.

    Was this answer helpful?

Your answer

Answers can be marked as 'Accepted' by the question author and 'Recommended' by moderators, which helps users know the answer solved the author's problem.