A family of Microsoft spreadsheet software with tools for analyzing, charting, and communicating data.
If the workbook is using the legacy Shared Workbook feature, turn that feature off:
- In Excel, go to Review.
- Click Track Changes > Highlight Changes.
- Clear Track changes while editing. This also shares your workbook.
- Confirm the prompt. This removes the workbook from shared use.
Important:
- Some editing actions are blocked while the legacy shared workbook feature is enabled, including inserting or deleting blocks of cells, deleting worksheets, merging cells, assigning or removing passwords, and changing array formulas.
- Before turning off Shared Workbook, make sure other users have finished their work. If users are disconnected or sharing is turned off while they still have unsaved changes, their unsaved work can be lost.
If the file is stored in OneDrive and only has file-sharing permissions applied, remove sharing from the file instead:
- Select the file.
- Open Information in the upper-right to open the Details pane.
- Select Manage access.
- Do one of the following:
- Select the X next to a link to disable it.
- Select Can Edit or Can View > Stop Sharing.
- Or change permissions from Can Edit to another option if needed.
If the file is in SharePoint, use Manage access and either:
- Remove direct access for specific people or groups,
- remove shared links from the Links tab, or
- select Stop sharing to remove all sharing.
References: