New Outlook shows primary account as shared

Kurzhals, Niklas 20 Zuverlässigkeitspunkte
2026-03-24T09:54:21.2566667+00:00

In New Outlook, several users have reported to me that they see their primary mail account twice, on time as usual, but also as shared, it will also show up under "shared with me".

I have checked ACE's in the ACL as well as Ghost permissions and also checked every possible place where permissions could be. Nothing.

I have then added Fullaccess permissions to the users account for themselves via powershell, waited a bit and removed them again. This somehow makes the mailbox vanish from "shared with me".

This has to be a bug right? It happened this week for several users without any connection between them.

Regards

Outlook | Windows | Neues Outlook für Windows | Geschäftlich
0 Kommentare Keine Kommentare

Antwort, die vom Frageautor angenommen wurde
Tamara-Hu 17,960 Zuverlässigkeitspunkte Externe Microsoft-Mitarbeiter Moderator
2026-03-25T14:43:04.85+00:00

Hello @Kurzhals, Niklas, 

Thank you for your patience while I test for this issue on my environment.

To better understand why your primary mailbox is appearing under “Shared with me” in the New Outlook, please run the following commands in Exchange Online PowerShell for the affected accounts. This will allow us to check whether the mailbox has been mis‑classified as a shared mailbox or has incorrect permissions cached. 

1. Connect to Exchange Online: Connect-ExchangeOnline 

2. Check the mailbox details 

  • Please replace [email]@[domain.com] with the mailbox that is incorrectly appearing as “shared”: Get-Mailbox -Identity "******@domain.com" | Format-List * 
  • After that, please provide screenshot showing PrimarySmtpAddress, RecipientType, RecipientTypeDetails     

3. Check all permissions on the mailbox 

  • Run the command: Get-MailboxPermission -Identity "******@domain.com"

As there are personal information include, you can safely provide the screenshots in our private message. Information stored there will automatically be deleted after 30 days. Please reset this page and you'll see a pop-up on top of your thread. You can click on View Messages to check what I've messaged you.     

Benutzerbild

When you send us the output, we will check for: 

  • MailboxType / RecipientTypeDetails 
  • Any unexpected FullAccess or ghost delegate permissions 

This information will help us confirm whether the mailbox is truly configured as “shared” on the server side or if New Outlook is showing it incorrectly. 


 In the meantime, you can also advise the affected user to manually repair your Outlook App : 

  • Press Windows + I to open the Settings app.   
  • Click on Apps > Installed apps (or Apps & features, depending on your Windows version).   
  • Scroll down or search for Outlook for Windows > Click on the three dots > Advanced options    

Benutzerbild

  • Scroll down to the Reset section > Choose Repair   
  • If the issue persists, please back up all your important data and choose Reset

Benutzerbild

I'm looking forward to your next response.

War diese Antwort hilfreich?


1 zusätzliche Antwort

Sortieren nach: Neueste
  1. Tamara-Hu 17,960 Zuverlässigkeitspunkte Externe Microsoft-Mitarbeiter Moderator
    2026-03-24T10:58:53.4666667+00:00

    Since you posted your question in English, I’ll reply in this language as well. If you’re more comfortable using another language, please let me know, I’ll be happy to tailor my response to your preferred language. 


    Hello @Kurzhals, Niklas, 

    Good day! I hope you are doing well. 

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share all these details and for testing different scenarios on your side. I really appreciate the effort you’ve already put into trying to understand and resolve this behavior. 

    Based on your description, I understand that your primary mailbox is unexpectedly appearing twice in the New Outlook, once in the usual location and once under “Shared with me”, as if it were a shared mailbox. I know how confusing this can be, especially when it suddenly impacts multiple users. 

    Please let me know if I misunderstood any part of your issue or if there are additional details you’d like to share. 

    To help us provide the most accurate and effective solution for this unexpected behavior, could you share a bit more detail about your setup: 

    • Which version of the New Outlook app are you currently running? 
    • Does the issue appear on only Windows device, or on other operating systems as well? 
    • Do you see the same duplication when signing in from another computer or Outlook on the web/Classic Outlook? 
    • Did this begin happening after any recent policy changes, migrations, or Outlook updates in your organization? 
    • When the mailbox appears as shared, does it show the Shared icon, and can you open its folders normally? 
    • Could you sign in to the Microsoft Exchange admin center and check whether there is any shared mailbox that has a name or alias similar to the user’s primary email address? 
    • Does this behavior occur only for a specific set of users, or are random users across your organization experiencing the same issue? 
    • Does the issue happen to a specific group of users or all users? 
    • Could you please share a screenshot of what you see on your side, especially where the primary mailbox appears under “Shared with me”? A visual reference would be extremely helpful in confirming the behavior and ensuring we provide the most accurate guidance. 

    This additional context will help us understand your environment and the steps already taken so we can tailor the guidance to resolve the issue effectively. Please remember to remove any personal information before uploading images on this public platform. 

    Looking forward to your response so we can get this sorted out for you together. 


    If you have extra questions about this answer, please click "Comment". 

    Note: Please follow the steps in our documentation to enable e-mail notifications if you want to receive the related email notification for this thread.

    War diese Antwort hilfreich?


Ihre Antwort

Antworten können von Fragestellenden als „Angenommen“ und von Moderierenden als „Empfohlen“ gekennzeichnet werden, wodurch Benutzende wissen, dass diese Antwort das Problem des Fragestellenden gelöst hat.