I inadvertently set my computer to delete all history on computer close down. how to I undo this?close

Anonymous
2025-04-07T09:58:12+00:00

I inadvertantly set my computer to delate all history automatically on close down. How do I undo this.

Microsoft Edge | Open the browser | Windows 11

Locked Question. This question was migrated from the Microsoft Support Community. You can vote on whether it's helpful, but you can't add comments or replies or follow the question.

0 comments No comments
Answer accepted by question author
DYARI BARHAM 38,356 Reputation points Independent Advisor
2025-04-07T12:47:15+00:00

Hi David,

I'm Dyari. Thanks for reaching out. I will be happy to assist you in this regard.

I assume you are referring to the Microsoft Edge's history. If so, open Microsoft Edge > Click the three dots in the top-right corner > Settings > Privacy, search, and services > Clear browsing data > Choose what to clear every time you close the browser > Turn OFF everything that's enabled > Once that's done, Edge will stop deleting the history on exit.

If you want to recover the deleted history, you might have a chance if you were signed in with a Microsoft account and had syncing turned on. Or, go to this path: C:\Users\Your User Profile\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Edge\User Data\Default\History

Check to see if Bookmarks.bak is available.

Otherwise, unfortunately, history can’t be recovered unless you have backups.

Please let me know if you need further assistance.

Was this answer helpful?

3 people found this answer helpful.
0 comments No comments

0 additional answers

Sort by: Most helpful